top of page

Please Login/Register to leave a review

Murano

37 Grosvenor and 38 Grenville

Toronto, ON

Overall Rating

1.5

Total Reviews

25

Rate & Review

unavailable.png
average rating is 2 out of 5

Condition

average rating is 2 out of 5

Maintenance

average rating is 2 out of 5

Security

average rating is 4 out of 5

Location

Condo Rating

Murano at 37 Grosvenor and 38 Grenville The amenities in the complex include fitness track spacious exercise room

Condo Reviews:

You have reviewed this property already. It is pending review. Stay tuned

x

2

Overal Rating

17-02-01, 6:37 p.m.

Do not recommend

Front desk is extraordinarily bad It's not really a concierge just security and not even good one at that It took them 3 weeks to set me and my partner up with a buzzer code and that included 4 times of me having to come down and explain that the last 3 times didn't work and would they please do it properly this time and actually check to see if it works once they've set it up The fourth time I had to yell that I wasn't going to fill out the same damn form multiple times because oh I don't know who has it here why don't you fill out another piece of paper that I ll let sit around for weeks and take no responsibility for Property Management does not communicate adequately Water shutoffs not communicated via portal but they told me they put up a sign in the lobby ON THE MORNING OF Well that sure helps Garbage chute is off a lot an

1

Overal Rating

15-07-03, 10:06 a.m.

FUCK THIS BUILDING

Moved in a month ago and this building is a NIGHTMARE There's some sort of broken duct fan in the ceiling so there is a horrible intermittent scraping screeching sound that can be ignored but apparently isn't a big enough issue to fix Garbage chute is out of service almost every night appliances are shoddy plumbing is fucked tap fixture broken This is clearly a building where the developer cut costs everywhere they could Everything was done as cheaply as possible Panels of glass used to fall off the balconies and they all had to be replaced years ago google it it's clearly representative of the overall construction quality DO NOT RENT OR BUY HERE If you are unfortunate enough to have bought one of these units I feel so sorry for you

1

Overal Rating

14-02-09, 9:41 p.m.

Stay away at all costs it's a downhill ride

I would recommend this building to no one Unless you like Garbage chute broken every day A smell of garbage on half your floor permeating from the chute Three elevators for 45 floors at least one of them non operational Do you enjoy waiting up to 20 minutes for an elevator during the morning rush to work Poorly trained and surly security guards RBG only two on staff at any given time They spit on the floor pick their teeth while talking to you aren't around for hours at a time and when you ask them anything their default answer is it's your problem take it up with management What's not to love Building management that doesn't respond to phone calls and emails from residents A steam room that's been closed for four months and will remain closed indefinitely according to the signage the last time I was in building Jan A gym with seven pieces of cardio equipment about one down at any given time and some held together with yellow electrical tape no joke and floors that seem perpetually caked in dirt No access to water in your unit about once per week 9 5 for plumbing Poorly trained security and contractors accessing your unit about once per month without your prior knowledge to fix heating cooling system Paying more than 300 per month in condo fees for the poor security broken steam room tiny gym with broken dirty equipment Not for me but maybe there's someone out there who's into this stuff

1

Overal Rating

14-02-09, 9:48 p.m.

Stay away at all costs it's a downhill ride part II

Just wanted to add how interesting it is to see so many positive reviews saying things have changed and we can't change the past and old reviews should be taken down This is clearly management realtors or owners who don't like the fact that the value of their unit is sliding every day because of ex residents like me who are leaving telling their real estate agents how horrible of a place this is and reviewing it honestly on websites like these to warn people away There are so many great places in the city where the management don't have complaints against them by the better business bureau there have never been lawsuits related to faulty construction I m assuming that's why the quality of the building has gone sharply downhill and have better ratings on them in public forums like this one

2

Overal Rating

13-11-25, 2:25 p.m.

Property on the fast decline

I ve lived in a 38 Grenville for several years Unfortunately this building is in fast decline They switched security guards several months ago and the new company is incredibly hostile They'll really go out of their way not to help you and their general level of helpfulness is abysmal The building manager Susan is also quite a handful Her demeanour is at best condescending and at worse incredibly rude A particularly bitchy building manager would be okay if not for her complete inability to keep the building intact Elevators break down in the mornings when you're trying to get to work windows never get cleaner heck your balcony might even fall off your unit and into the street Google it At the end of the day there are so many options in this city to live Choose a place with better management and security that makes you feel safe not threatened

4

Overal Rating

13-06-11, 6:53 a.m.

New Condo Owner Part 5

I agree with the previous reviewer who wrote " Things are better now†We can't undo what is already happened in the past but I think it is also very important for us to look forward and embrace the positive changes in Murano I believe Lanterra the developer has learnt their lessons It is not deniable that in the past few years residents in Murano have experienced many troublesome incidents such as construction noises and blocked balconies and I feel sorry for them However negative comment from the past is only going to hurt condo owners and tenants who are dwelling in Murano right now I'm not saying that we should erase the past and pretend bad things never happened However every condo in Toronto has its secrets if there appears to be a positive change at Murano the public deserve to know After all I do believe that things are a lot better now and I want to prove it to all of you condo hunters Stay tuned Your neighbor Aimee

0

Overal Rating

13-06-11, 7:00 a.m.

New Condo Owner Part 4

I just want to make it clear that glass falling issues and lawsuit in Murano are both solved The developer has replaced all the balcony glasses with laminated glasses last winter and the lawsuit was settled after all The Status Certificate shows that Murano absolutely has a 'good standing' right now Regarding all the other complaints about this building such as noise poor sound insulation negligent management and slow elevator the only thing I can say is that 1 Noise insulation is always a problem with condos and even with houses 2 I've not talk with the management team yet but I do have good impression of the building's management through several interactions with the concierge and some of the building staffs 3 It may be a flaw in design that Murano only has three elevators for a 45 floor building but the management office already made rules to avoid moving in out during rush hours which means all of three elevators will be on service during this time I think this shows a great deal of the management team's effort to create better livings for their residents I'm not a resident in Murano yet so that's all I can say about the concerns and complaints regarding this condo I will definitely come back to this site and make more detailed and honest comments about my experience with this building after I move in

0

Overal Rating

13-06-11, 7:03 a.m.

New Condo Owner Part 3 2

The layout of Murano is very similar to 763 761 Bay due to its twin tower structure The North and South towers are joined by a two storey podium with planned retail Starbucks and Running Room and recreational facilities gym and large indoor pool including a roof top garden with BBQ sets and much more I was very happy with the interior design of public areas The second I walked out of the elevator I saw ivory white walls and doors of the same colour It was so beautiful and dainty that I almost forgot to breath When I walked into the unit it didn't let me down It's a bright corner unit with a large living room The only thing that I didn't appreciate about that unit was its bedroom The bedroom was kind of small to me it's a normal sized bedroom compare to recently built condos but I used to live in a relatively old building on Bay Wellesley for many years and the master bedroom was huge In general the unit satisfied all my expectations of a dream condo so I made an offer after another viewing on the next day and the seller accepted my offer that night Now I am an excited new owner in the South Tower and ready to move in

0

Overal Rating

13-06-11, 7:03 a.m.

New Condo Owner Part 3 1

You might be wondering how I end up with Murano My answer is fate Long story short my broker initially suggested me to avoid Murano due to their previous glass falling issues and lawsuit and we did avoid it until the day we viewed the very last possible consideration in my desired area i e Burano and didn't find anything that arouse my interest I viewed many other condos on Bay street and Yonge street as well they were just not attractive to me enough Then I told my broker that I want to give Murano a try The next day my broker set up a showing and I was extremely impressed by the building and the suites in it

0

Overal Rating

13-06-11, 7:04 a.m.

New Condo Owner Part 2

I initially had my eyes on 770 Bay and 732 Bay aka Burano 770 Bay is a gorgeous new building located on the south west corner of Bay and College right next to CIBC Unfortunately there was absolutely nothing on sale in that building at the time when I was looking I viewed several units in Burano which is also built by the developer of Murano aka 37 Grosvenor 38 Grenville and concluded that the diamond shaped glass building is beautiful to look at from the outside but not structurally functional from the inside because this unique design results in irregular shaped rooms in most units I'm the type of person who takes serious account of space and layout plus I didn't like the black door white wall theme on each floor it just looked unhappy to me Plus the floor that I visited smelled like garbage chute This is just my personal impression of the building if you are looking for a condo in Bay College area definitely check them out because you can't just rely on what you heard It is not fair since everyone has different preference and taste and things do change I will prove this to you in the following part of my story

4

Overal Rating

13-06-11, 7:08 a.m.

New Condo Owner Part 1

I planned to purchase a condo in downtown Toronto and started looking and viewing with my broker since the beginning of May My targeted area was the Bay College intersection and 763 Bay was my most desired location I've visited 763 Bay for several times and had a great impression of the building However there were very few available units on sale and competitive offers made the condo prices much higher than they really worth Who doesn't love 763 Bay So I decided to explore the Bay College area a little bit and give other condos a chance Note Due to word limit my comment is divided into 5 Parts Please see the next post for more information

0

Overal Rating

12-11-27, 7:57 p.m.

Searching for Murano residentss

I am searching for residents in the Murano Towers for a documentary on condo life Please contact if you are able to chat about your experience Yvette Brend Bountiful Films yvette bountiful ca www bountiful ca

4

Overal Rating

12-11-05, 11:19 p.m.

Things are better now

If anyone is using this forum to make a decision of buying or renting in this building please take note that the review dates are mostly in 2009 This is when the building took occupancy Of course if a building is not completely done there will be a terrbile amount of noise and traffic in common areas Its part of buying new Being an owner who STILL lives there i can see that the Management has improved DRAMATICALLY They do tend to your issues quickly there is even a website now where you can book ammenities and service calls All condos have to go through its growing pains before maturing into a well runned machine Murano is just that Seeing my property appreciate in value in the hundreds of thousands I dont know what everyone is complaining about Just for the record i have not had ANY problems regarding AC or noise or anything like that Yes the parking garage is HOT so big deal You dont live there People LOVE to complain and I for one cant stand when it when people bad mouth Murano or Lanterra Sure maybe they cut corners but look at the area it is in Go buy a tridel in the outskirts of CRACKTOWN if you want better quality but as far as Im concerned Murano Burano These condos offer a great location For those of you that complain about size and boxy suites go buy a house

0

Overal Rating

12-11-06, 6:16 a.m.

Does anyone monitor postings

Postings more than two years should be removed Every building goes through changes Older postings should be history in a well run building

1

Overal Rating

12-07-04, 12:32 a.m.

Do not buy or rent in the Murano

I currently rent in the Murano and all these reviews are true About the only good thing about this building is the location The unit we rent is expensive and small for the price The finishes feel cheap the laminate flooring for example is pretty bad The dishwasher doesn't work great either and the doors are basically sliding cardboard There are not enough elevators there are only three and one is almost always in service Often a second one is broken my husband got stuck in one once so generally there is a long wait and often lineups during rush hour You can feel air rushing in through the windows when it's windy which makes me wonder about the construction after all especially since the balcony glass was falling off not too long ago But the worst think is the property management which totally SUCKS The air conditioning is off has been for almost a week and it's a heat wave and nobody can make any commitments about when this might get fixed Seriously I can't see how this would be a good investment and as a renter I would steer clear

1

Overal Rating

12-07-05, 1:40 a.m.

Bad workmanship negligent management

I currently rent in this building very pleased that I did not purchase here The construction from foundations to finishes is rubish There is very little soundproofing whether within the units or between units and you may as well leave the door to the corridor open for all the good it does as a sound barrier The issue of the glass falling off may be symptimatic of the poor construction but the lack of effort to get the condition repaired in a timely manner speaks volumes of the quality of the property managers They cannot even predict when the refit maybe completed People who live in the complex do not rate highly The garbage chutes are not reliable The air conditioning system has only broken once so far this summer maybe things are looking up

1

Overal Rating

12-07-19, 11:19 p.m.

AVOID MURANO

Murano was promising when I first saw the model but since I received the unit i've noticed many problems Not only is the management a HUGE problem for renters but investors also have to deal with hell from them at all times We had our renter forget to give back her apt keys She left them at the front desk they couldnt find them and didnt give a damn We had to pay 400 to replace them eventhough they were left at security The condo fees keep going up and up avoid this place very poor workmanship

1

Overal Rating

12-06-14, 7:24 a.m.

Wish I knew about this site sooner

In my experience this building has been the worst I ve ever lived in Pros Location Cons Construction there was the balcony incident last year but not all balconies are open even to this day The drilling noise echoes throughout the ENTIRE building It doesn't matter in which direction or on which floor you can just hear it Noise all the other reviews are absolutely correct the noise problem is so bad that you can hear your neighbor's conversations clearly It's worse within the suite i e in a 2 bedroom suite there is NO privacy between the bedrooms because the bedroom doors are sliding hollow cardboard Utility costs please remember that the utilities are NOT included in this building And although you may think from living in the other high end nearby Bay St condos that doesn't include hydro that this won't be an issue make no mistake during the winter you can feel the cold wind seep into the unit via the glass I ended up paying way too much in hydro because of the required heating Parking lot foundation problems I had to move my car about 3 times in the past year out of my spot because management sent letters to some residents on foundation cracks that need to be reviewed This was also on a relatively short notice less than a week so I m not sure what the management expects from residents who are on vacation or travelling for work I will NOT be recommending the Murano condos to anyone

1

Overal Rating

11-07-26, 11:00 p.m.

Looks Good But Poorly Built

The size of the rooms is decent however one of our rooms did not have a proper door installed which seems like a strange choice for a 2 br luxury condo Both bathrooms small but finished nicely The living room area was also spacious and is open concept with the kitchen Unfortunately we were unable to use our balcony as falling glass from other balconies made this a hazard to walk onto The pool area is nice though the gym has minimal weights and tredmills blow their circuit breakers after 5 minutes the circuits blow With only 3 elevators when one is on service it can be up to 5 10 minute wait The quality of the building structure is sub par Along with leaks and the falling glass our air conditioner broke and remained unfixed by the building who were responsible for it for over 9 days in the hottest days of the year According to the building services they were having a difficult time as 50 other units in the two towers at Murano were also experiencing similar problems Our landlords were great here and very supportive through the many problems Overall the unit is nice to visit and has the potential to be a good spot to live If building services properly maintained elements such as air conditioning and falling glass wasn't such a problem it might be worth the pricey cost

2

Overal Rating

11-08-07, 1:31 a.m.

Is it worth the price you pay

Am renting in 38 Grenville Have signed a lease for a year and am wondering whether I ve made a mistake The apartment is small with little space for a useful dining table in the open plan living room dining kitchen area The front door opens directly into the kitchen area the guest bathroom is in such a position as to make a dining table non feasible and the 2nd bedroom has 2 sliding doors that leave cracks on either side with no privacy As mentioned before you can look into each others apartments from the balconies as the partitions are useless The facilities have been closed for ages due to falling glass from the balconies and renders the swimming pool jacuzzi and steam room which you pay this monstrous rent for unusable The lift problems have been mentioned numerous times but to add to that they are incredibly hot in summer and when packed noxious odours from sweating patrons leave an indelible mark We've visited friends in other nearby apartments which are much larger for less rent

2

Overal Rating

11-06-02, 12:06 a.m.

Sleepless nights

there is a PROSTITUTE who is OPERATING out of unit 2210 she has several GENTLEMAN CALLERS a day who arrive at ALL HOURS OF THE DAY AND NIGHT and there are ACCOMPANYING SOUND EFFECTS MANAGEMENT does NOTHING

1

Overal Rating

10-08-17, 6:11 p.m.

WORST EVER

i CURRENTLY LIVE AT 37 GROSVENOR ST AND I MUST SAY THIS BUILDING IS POORLY CONSTRUCTED THE BUILDING IS ONLY A YEAR OLD IVE VEEN LIVING THERE SINCE APRIL AND MY AIR CONDITIONING UNIT IS DEFECTIVE ALREADY DEFECTIVE AND STILL HASNT BEEN FIXED FOR AMLOST TWO WEEKS NOW AND ITS SUMMER NOT TO MENTION THE THIN WALLS CLOGGED UP BATH TUB WHICH WAS THE CASE PRIOR TO MOVING IN POOR CUSTOMER SERVICE AND ELEVATOR ACCESSIBILITY AND AVAILABILITY THE PARKING UNDERGROUND HAS NO AIR VENTILATION ITS SUMMER TIME AND YOU WILL ROAST DOWN THERE FOR THE MERE SECONDS THAT YOU HAVE TO PARK YOUR CAR AND GET TO THE ELEVATOR THE UNITS ARE BOX LIKE AND YOU CAN LITERALLY HEAR YOUR NEIGHBORS KIDS SCREAMING CRYING FROM THE HALL DOWN ITS JUST THE WORST BUILDING TO LIVE IN FOR THE PRICE YOU PAY

1

Overal Rating

10-03-28, 10:32 p.m.

Not worth it

I currently am living in 38 Grenville Street Murano condo building Although it may look nice from the outside it was poorly made Apartments are small and boxy The apartments and rooms within the apartments are not sound proof at all the second bedroom in my unit has two useless sliding doors that do not allow much privacy Kitchen is small and cramped with not nearly enough cabinet space Only 3 elevators for a 45 story building takes forever to get up or down Location is good but am extremely unhappy in this building moving out asap

1

Overal Rating

10-05-16, 2:04 a.m.

Can't wait to move out

I have lived at 38 Grenville for 6 months here are some issues 1 Elevators 3 elevators for 45 floors NO parking elevator or service elevator which means when people move in which is often there are only 2 for the residents They often breakdown and a crowd of ppl are left waiting in the lobby 2 NOISE NOISE NOISE There is absolutely no sound insulation between apartments I live in a 1 bedroom by myself and I can hear people talking in the apartment next to me I also hear their PHONE RINGING I hear the people above me talking or when they close their sliding doors I have to sleep with earplugs but if they are talking loudly I can still hear them I am not exaggerating it is that poorly insulated The street however is quiet 3 Privacy the balcony partitions are very low and you can see through the sides they are not closed off between balconies essentially this means I can see into my neighbour's balconies and they can see into mine 4 Shoddy workmanship 5 Security In order to access the stairwell you have to call a security person walk OUTSIDE into another part of the building and have them open it for you WHY 6 ppl moving in there is no service entrance so ppl have to move all of their stuff in through the lobby where the residents are wait for the elevators which is ridiculous 7 conceirge are ok have to put up with many frustrated residents all the time

1

Overal Rating

09-11-11, 8:24 p.m.

Stay away from Murano

I moved into 37 Grosvenor in August 2009 The location is great but the property management is terrible I currently rent in the building and I would strongly advise against buying Here are a few of my concerns 1 Property Management is unresponsive when things are broken in the units it can takes weeks to fix them if they're ever fixed at all 2 The elevators break all the time There are only three in a building of 34 floors so it can take a while to get one when they're all working However when one breaks it can take 10 15 minutes to catch an elevator in the morning One elevator has been broken in 37 Grosvenor now for a month 3 The buildings both 37 Grosvenor and 38 Grenville have been under construction for months Many amenities that were promised to be finish in Sept 09 have yet to be open to residences it is currently Nov 09 Construction crews are constantly using the elevators and the parking to store their equipment 4 Management is constantly imposing new rules on the use of building facitilies For example I was recently told that visitors could not park in my parking spot the only car that could be parked in my space was my own

bottom of page